Recalled; Daily prompt

Personal space

To what extent is your blog a place for your own self-expression and creativity vs. a site designed to attract readers?

How do you balance that? If sticking to certain topics and types of posts meant your readership would triple, would you do it?

When I started to blog, my intention was clear. Even if you look at the blog’s title. Thoughts and some happenings. I indented to write about my own thoughts, to speak my mind, and to express my opinion about the different daily subjects that I encounter. “Some happenings” also utter that I will write about the different events that I may bump into.

That was my apparent intention from creating this personal space. However, as a university student studying English I also wanted to help myself enhance my writings in place that does not require you to write in an academic way. In addition, it gives you the freedom to try different ways of writing and most certainly, it does not need to be formal and accurate.

I begin to undertake some of the daily prompts that I liked and made me unlock my mind. It is a great way to create a blogging habit, a healthy one. However, I think me more into creating bad habits than good ones. I only select the prompts that I like or the ones that fill me with some inspiration. That’s the reason why my blog is not prolific. After that, I wrote many other posts about school and daily routines.

Now after almost one year of blogging I believe that I need to take my blog to the next level and beyond daily prompts. If I want to enlarge my readers, I believe that I need to write more about literature or sports or philosophy or politics or anything that maybe of interest to me or my potential readers. I certainly write because I enjoy writing and it is a way to improve my writing, but also we write so that others read us, share our thoughts, agree or disagree with them or even enrich our posts with new perspectives.

Every blog is a place for self-expression and unlocking creativity, whether; you are keeping a diary, writing about food, your travel adventures or book reviews. It is good to know that there is someone; somewhere is reading what you write. And, if you are blogging consistently you will always attract more readers.

Leave a Reply

