Why study Philosophy ?

philwebbannerstudy

Why study philosophy is the important question that I have been asked all over this week from my friends or the people who learn that I am taking a Master in philosophy, particularly, those people I have met in class and one teacher that happens to be the head of our Philosophy Department.

Since I have enrolled at the beginning of this month in this Master I have denied myself to answer the question. I was not going to get back to class this year, so why I bother to find an answer.

First, I don’t know why I have chosen to study philosophy, but as I knew that I won’t have a chance to continue my Master’s in English last June after graduation. I had two alternatives, either I choose philosophy or sociology. Honestly, my inclinations were in the favor of the latter, but as it was not easy to apply and that I may waste my time for applying to something I may not get I have decided to apply for a Master’s in philosophy.

In our university there are two kinds of specialties in philosophy, the first one was for those who already had their License Degree in philosophy and spend three years doing it. The second one was open for those who had been studying  in different fields such as Arabic literature, English language, history… .

I have asked myself this question many times and all I can find out was that staying at University is better than staying home unemployed for example. I may not have an answer now, but, I may find out when I study philosophy or I maybe not.

I sometimes realize  that I am not good in making my own decisions that’s why I keep it open, or maybe that’s why I choose philosophy because it is also an open area open to different people, to different interpretations, and to different topics and questions.

the Main reason I am writing this post is not only to try to explain to myself why I’ve chosen to study philosophy, but also because I have been called by some of my classmates  a Stranger to philosophy an out-caste, because, I don’t come from philosophy as my main specialty as most of them do. It is like philosophy is an exclusive privilege for people who only study it.

The way I see it, philosophy is open to everyone, even if you don’t get it much. And, I don’t really get it much, but I ‘ll try my best, especially after I was called an out-cast. I will try to use this as a challenge and strive to do my best.

 

Leave a Reply

