Homage

There are a few people who I have been disgraceful to lately and I did not give them a proper thanks. I think I can be unthankful sometimes, but, this doesn’t mean I don’t care about people. Usually, I thank people the moment they do something good for me and in many times I just postpone doing that, because, I feel some people deserve something more than just a thank you. But, the real problem is that I always think it in my head and never do it, at least I don’t remember the last time I did it, and I always stop at the limit of an idea.

When I was in high school I remember that one of my goals back then was to pay tribute to my parents, I just knew that I had to do so, but, never knew how or what would be the thing which I have to pay them with.

Mr. Hansen one of my previous students once told me about a book he read Five Languages of Love” He said each one of us has his own love language. Some prefer to have gifts, something material and that’s how they can feel cherished and loved. Some others prefer time; they would like you to spend time with them, to bond with them, and that’s how they feel treasured and loved. I don’t remember the other two love languages. But, I remember the last one which is words of affirmation such as “great job” well done” or just “thank you”. I believe that my love language is words of affirmation; I mean I like it very much when people thank me for something I did, or tell me that I did a good work. I feel motivated, valued, and loved.

I guess that probably comes from my mother’s side, because, whenever I try to thank her for something she did for me, she always gets angry and says “never say that, it’s my job, my duty” which is the same thing I think about when people tell me that I did a good job or thank me for something, I mean I don’t get angry, on the contrary, I feel happy, but also, I feel as if it was my duty or just something that needed to be done. And, Sometimes I get a feeling of dissatisfaction about the “good job” that I supposedly did. Probably, because, I think that there is more to be done, anyways, it’s confusing. And, maybe this is why I get lost in the idea of thanking other people, because, I think it too much.

Recently, I have participated in a project with the Tunisian association “Association Théâtre -forum-Tunisie” I was a performer in a play we were making for the public. And, the main objectives of this project were, on the one hand, to introduce the public to the techniques of “théâtre forum”, “théâtre image”, and theater of the oppressed in general. On the other hand, to raise the public awareness about the elections and their right to practice citizenship as well as to explain why they need to take part in politics, and particularly, in the upcoming local elections.

I really had the most ravishing experience ever. I met with many people that now I am friends with and I had an amazing learning, travelling, and acting experience. So, without think it too much, I hope that this post on my blog would eventually be my ultimate way of paying tribute to all my friend participants in this project, my friend Wessleti Hedi for the opportunity, Mr. Abidi Mohamed and Mrs. Shelly Saida for the training, guidance and teaching about theater f the oppressed and its techniques as well as the opportunity to discover something new about myself and also to discover many places in Tunisia I would never have the chance to explore before.

Leave a Reply

